Work, No Work, Work

03May11

It’s been an interesting week, to say the least. Now prepare for my ramble.

Let’s start from the beginning, shall we. Tuesday was my last day working with Teachscape Inc. (http://www.teachscape.com)on the Measures of Effective Teaching (MET) Project, that’s funded by the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation. I had been working there for the last seven months as a Video Review Administrator. My job was basically to assess captured videos for video and audio quality, then send them on for content review. I more or less enjoyed working there. My contract was coming up at the end of the week, and I had an opportunity to head out to Calaveras County and shoot for the back half of the week. So, I made Tuesday my cut off date at Teachscape and packed for the ride up.

I had to meet my ride to the location at noon on Wednesday, and I received a call from Beyond Pix Communications, a company I had been trying to get a foot in the door at for quite some time, saying that they’d like to interview me for a position within the company. After I got over the initial panic, I dressed for the interview and made my way to the studio. Long story short, they offered me the job. Afterwards I met with the carpool and went to the location.

I had an amazing five days of shooting for Nico Van Den Berg’s (http://digitalrevolutionmedia.com) short film My Sweet Clementine. As the script supervisor I was able to be an important part of the production. This film is going to be quite simply, amazing. The script is solid. The crew was top of the line. The characters were well casted. Biasness aside, I have nothing negative to say about the piece. It moves into post-production starting today, and the editor, Dana Shaw (http://danashawfilm.com), is an extremely talented editor. I can’t wait to see the final piece.

Which brings me to the start of this week, and the start of my new job. I’m going to be working as a Broadcast Technician at Beyond Pix. As much as I’ve enjoyed most of my jobs int the past, I feel like this is the first time that it actually won’t be work. I love working in film and media. I’ve followed the company for a long while, and the work they put out is very exciting. I am honored to now be apart of it.

I still look forward to finding time to do some freelance stuff, but I think for now I’m set. My next goal is to save enough for a decent HDSLR rig.

No Responses Yet to “Work, No Work, Work”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

