Beyond Pix and Beyond

15Jun11

Pardon me whilst I ramble. This week’s post is going to be pretty ego-centric. A lot has been happening, and I wish to share.

Let’s start with work. For the last two months I’ve been working at Beyond Pix Studios (beyondpix.com) as a Broadcast Technician. I know broadcast wasn’t something I really learned in school, but I love it. Crappy hours and all. The department I work in (Broadcast) is a 24-hour remote live studio. We get contracted by news corporations like CNN and CNBC to link live shots from San Francisco out to wherever they’re broadcasting from. We work with stations all over the globe, and the guests, 9 times out of 10, are pretty cool. Beyond Pix does more than just broadcast though. It’s a full service production house. The other departments (other than broadcast) are Production (shooting), Post-Production (editing), Interactive Media (web), and Creative Services (concept). All five departments work pretty close with each other, and I love being a part of this team. There are about 25 people on staff, and it’s just the right amount. They even feed us three out of five days.

Part of my job as the broadcast technician is to curate our Dailymotion Video Gallery (dailymotion.com). We record the segments, I edit them down, throw in our bumper, and post it on Dailymotion. 

Last weekend, however, I had the opportunity to work directly with the production department. The 2011 NATAS (National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences) Awards Show was on Saturday, June 11th. Beyond Pix was chosen to produce a live webcast of the event. It was basically an all-hands-on-deck shoot. Three cameras, audio, projection, mobile control room, the works. The reason I’m bringing this up, apart from the 19 hour day that I followed immediately with a live shot for the broadcast department, is because I think I really showed the company that I was a right choice. Being new, in my eyes, means you have to prove yourself to those who have been there a while. So, I busted my hump, was johnny-on-the-spot (side note,  I love that phrase) with the tasks that were assigned to me, and was proactive with finding new tasks.

I think it paid off well too. In the days that have followed I have been told numerous times, by a lot of different people, that I did really well. I was even able to work into conversation the fact that I’m a script supervisor; which is a desperately needed role in the bay area film community. I also now feel closer to the rest of the crew. It no longer feels like I’m “the new kid” that has to prove himself. Which is a big weight of my shoulders. …I’m still going to bust ass though.
Turning to a more personal note, I ordered my GoPro HD Hero Naked (gopro.com) and should be getting that, along with various mounts, in the next few days! So hopefully I will have a review of that coming soon. Also, because it’s fresh in my mind, my girlfriend, Loretta Robinson (lorettamaydesign.com), who is an absolutely amazing designer (and I say that without any bias), is graduating from the Art Institute of California- San Francisco this week. She specializes in identity, packaging, and stationary. So, if you’re ever in the need for a great designer, that’s easy to work with, check out her site, and give here a jingle. She did my logo, and I couldn’t be happier with it (widenmedia.com). Speaking of websites, that brings me to something that has been a thorn in my side for months now. Through my web server, Dream Host (dreamhost.com), I get free email service that is tied to my domain. Well, I’ve spent the last few months trying to get it to work, and now it does. I am pleased to say that jeremy@widenmedia.com is now an active email address.

Thus concludes my rambling. I know my last few posts haven’t been very technical, but that is hopefully going to change in the coming weeks. Thank you, and enjoy.

No Responses Yet to “Beyond Pix and Beyond”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

