My End of the Year (Almost)Post-Mortem

15Dec11

Since it’s the time of year when companies summarize the year they’ve had, and it’s been a while since I’ve done a life check in, here’s my Almost-Post-Mortem of 2011. I’ll try to keep it under 600 words.

Gear:

I’m a gear head.

My collection of gear has been steadily growing for the last 7 months, and I can now say that I can produce videos completely with the gear I own. I’ve got a camera (two if you include the GoPro with the 7D), with a collection of lenses. I’ve got a decent lighting kit (some DIY halogens, some clamp lights, some CFL floods), with an assortment of stands, clamps, and mounting options. I also bought a kick ass gel kit from B&H that has been working wonders.I’ve got mics and an audio recorder. I’ve got some other odds and ends that make it all happen.

Is there more that I want?
Of course.

Is there more that I need?
Probably. Some C-Stands would be great; and I’ve got a lead on a bunch of them being auctioned off.

But, I’ve got enough gear to be able to make some stellar stuff; without having to always rent!

Productions:

Which brings me to the productions I’ve been working on. This year I’ve served as a script supervisor on a handful of projects (including Nico Van den Berg’s “My Sweet Clementine” and Dakota Nicolucci’s “G&T”). I’ve worked as audio tech on some corporate interviews. PA/ Gripped on some large-scale event productions. Done some editing and motion graphics. But, what I’m most excited about is the camera work. Early in the year I was able to do some camera work. But, ever since I started amassing my own gear (see above), I’ve been able to get my own gigs. I’ve shot some stuff for San Francisco Magazine and Ann Taylor. I’ve been hired to shoot some timelapses. And I can now say that I’m for hire.

I’m trying to get to the point where I can freelance full-time. So, if you hear of any gigs, let me know.

Rentals:

One of the most surprising things I’ve found recently is gear rental. Because I have been amassing gear (again, see above), and because I’m not using it every day, I have been able to rent my gear out. It’s not a lot, but I’ve found a market that really works for me. Students.

I have tailored my rental prices to match the budget that students can afford. Because I can beat most other rental houses, I’ve stayed pretty busy with rentals. So far, my most used item in my Zoom H4n. It’s used so much that with the income from that rental I am planning on purchasing a second one.

There will be a full gear list on my website when I relaunch, but if you’re in/near SF contact me for a full list.

Website Relaunch:

Speaking of my site relaunch!

After I relaunched this blog, I saw a huge surge in readership and in work. Great things have been happening since then. So, I have been working with my graphic designer/ girlfriend on redesigning and rebranding myself. We plan to launch the new site before the end of the year. New colors, new work, new style. It’s looking great so far. I hope to see the same growth as I did with my blog relaunch.

It’s been a great year, and I can’t wait to get to work in the new one. New gear, productions, gear rental. It’s going to be an exciting year.

Now for the shameless plug: I’m for hire. Hire me. Contact me at jeremy@widenmedia.com

One Response to “My End of the Year (Almost)Post-Mortem”

  1. I love it when people come together and share opinions, great blog, keep it up.


Leave a Reply

