Widen Media Reboot

03Jan12

Loretta (lorettamaydesign.com) and I have been busy redesigning and updating my new website. And I’m pleased to say that it is now, in the words of Emperor Palpatine, “Fully Operational!”

www.widenmedia.com

I’m excited about this for multiple reasons.
1) This marks the first update to my website since June of 2010. Hopefully it will be a good platform for me to get some more freelance gigs. Part of the reason why I wanted to push for a complete re-design, not just an update, was because of what happened when I re-launched this blog. I re-designed and re-launched in April of 2011, and I’ve seen a huge boost in readership. So thanks to all of you.
2) This is the first time that either of us had used Adobe Muse (adobe.com). Instead of having to tweak and re-tweak code (which neither of us are super strong with), we could do just the design aspect, and the code would generate itself. It’s like using InDesign. It’s a great program, and I plan to continue using it once it’s out of beta. *NOTE: I use the term “we” loosely in this section. Loretta did the hard work, I just compiled information and said “yes” or “no” to designs.
3) Whenever you spend months on a project, it’s always a good feeling when it’s been completed. We’ve been stressing about getting it launched before the new year; and we were able to have the site go live on the night of January 1st.

What Did We Actually Do?

The old site was all black, with white text. All of the videos were hosted by my own server space (which made load times excruciatingly long), and were broken into four different categories. Everything came up in light box. It was functional, clean, and what I wanted a the time. Thanks to Phil Ybay (philybay.com) for building it out. But it was time for an upgrade.

We did an overhaul to my branding. New colors. A sleeker logo. I took a long look at the filmmaker sites that I visit, and pulled elements that I liked from all of them into the new design. We integrated my social media better.

The new site is more interactive. It’s easier to look at. And it shows the information off better. Plus, since we built it in Muse, it’ll be easy to update regularly. Hopefully you all check it out. And feel free to give us feedback.

What’s to Come?

We are still building out my Services and Rentals pages. I’m hoping that by adding these I can pick up the pace of work even more. I’m still cutting a few different reels. And I’m still waiting on a few projects to be finished. Once all that get’s added, the site will be at 100%.


2012 promises to be a good year. I’m really looking forward to it, and starting off with a fresh take on my site is a great way to start.

www.widenmedia.com

No Responses Yet to “Widen Media Reboot”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

