Vello Shutterboss Timelapse Test

15Jun12

Loretta and I are within two weeks of our move to Chicago. The process of packing and getting ready for the drive is a pain in the ass. But, one thing that I’m looking forward to is the timelapse I’m going to shoot during the cross-country trek.

I ordered a suction cup car mount (here’s the one I got (filmtools.com)) for my 7D and the Vello Shutterboss Intervalometer (bhphotovideo.com). I figured that this setup would allow me to shoot a timelapse of the drive without having to get too fancy. Seeing as I’ve never used the Vello intervalometer, I wanted to do a test; both to figure out how to use it, and to find out what my shooting capacity is. 








So, I set my rig up on my fire escape and got to work. The Vello was pretty easy to figure out. It’s pretty much just plug-in-and-go. The basic settings I altered are the Frame Interval (how often to take a shot) and the Exposure Time. What’s nice about the Vello is that once you get it going, you can just walk away and let it do its thing.

The Results:

I couldn’t be happier with my purchase. The Vello Shutterboss works great and is really easy to use. Shooting with the 7D for six hours only drained about half the battery (I had to leave and didn’t want to leave the rig hanging out all night); so, I figure I should be able to get 11-13 hours of life from each battery. I also shot this in a high JPEG setting at 1Frame/20Seconds; this used up about 6GB of my CF card. Shooting in raw should bump that up to ~8GB for a 6 hour span.

Here’s the video:

Vello Shutterboss Timlapse Test from Jeremy Widen on Vimeo.


If you’re looking for an easy way to shoot timelapse or long exposure photos, an intervalometer is the way to do it. If you want something inexpensive, easy to use, that gets great results, you can’t go wrong with the Vello Shutterboss, which will only set you back about $60 with shipping from B&H.

2 Responses to “Vello Shutterboss Timelapse Test”

  1. 1 Ken Z.

    I also have the Vello Shutterboss, but I lost my manual 😦 Can you explain the settings that you used please? I am confused as to how to setup the time lapse properly…the settings are just not connecting to my brain. thanks!


Leave a Reply

