Deconstructing the Blogroll: Hurlbut, Bloom, Laforet

07Jan13

A while ago I started a blog series to deconstruct my blogroll of the sites and people that I follow. These are the places I go to for information, tips, and tricks about filmmaking.

I couldn’t think of any better way to start off the new year than talking about three guys who I really look up to and garner a ton of information from. Shane Hurlbut (hurlbutvisuals.com), Philip Bloom (philipbloom.net), and Vincent Laforet (vincentlaforet.com) are some of the best filmmakers I’ve met. But I go to their sites for more than just fanboyism; they are also some of the best speakers, educators, and thinkers in the industry. I really value their thoughts and want to share their sites with you.

Shane Hurlbut

457592_300Shane Hurlbut (@hurlbutvisuals) is a director of photography and a member of the American Society of Cinematographers. He’s worked on big budget films, shorts, and everything under the sun. His most recent feature, Act of Valor (imdb.com), was one of the first feature-length projects to be shot completely with DSLR cameras.

I’ve seen Shane talk a couple of times, and every time he’s energetic, charismatic, and I learn a lot from him. He’s very approachable and easy to talk to. And that’s a big reason why I follow him.

Screen Shot 2013-01-07 at 12.41.26 PMThe other reason I follow him is because of his blog. Shane covers everything cinematography related: cameras, lighting, movement, the works. He shares his experiences in a way that can be applied to every day practical situations and discusses issues that come up frequently.

Philip Bloom

3767868_300When it comes to tutorials, reviews, and advice, it’s hard to beat Philip Bloom (@PhilipBloom). After I relaunched the blog, my first post came after seeing Philip speak at the Canon Filmmakers Live event in San Francisco (see the post here: jdwiden.wordpress.com). What I really like about Philip Bloom’s site is that it goes wider than just camera and technology. He also makes fantastic posts about the business of filmmaking, how to drive your career, and how to monetize your skills as a filmmaker.

Screen Shot 2013-01-07 at 12.48.38 PMMuch like Shane, he’s an amazing speaker and I get a lot of inspiration from him. As a young filmmaker I like seeing the more experienced sharing their knowledge with the masses. Philip is one of the biggest names in DSLR filmmaking and he’s been a big part of how I (and many others) have been able to break into the industry. His posts are truly helpful and I find myself perusing the archives quite often.

Vincent Laforet

Photo of Vincent Laforet - 2006When I was in film school, I wasn’t quite learning the things I wanted to be so I had to turn to outside sources to get informed. Along with Shane and Philip, one of the first sources I found was Vincent Laforet (@vincentlaforet). Vincent is one of the most talented filmmakers I can think of. In 2011 he shot a short film, Mobius (imdb.com) (video below), on the C300, and it’s absolutely brilliant. If you want to learn about new camera systems Vincent is a great person to learn from.

Screen Shot 2013-01-07 at 12.51.09 PMAlso like Shane and Philip, Vincent is a terrific speaker that is willing to answer questions and dole out healthy doses of knowledge. His blog covers cameras, editing, technology, everything you need to learn about to make movies. I’ve gotten a tremendous amount of information from his site and highly recommend it to everyone.

Mobius – 1080p HQ from Vincent Laforet on Vimeo.


If you’ve got some time go ahead and check out Shane (hurlbutvisuals.com), Philip (philipbloom.net), and Vincent’s (vincentlaforet.com) sites. They’ve all got a lot of information compiled for the masses. The best part about all three is their willingness to share their knowledge with everyone. And just like me, I’m sure they’d love to read your comments and connect with you on the social interwebs.


No Responses Yet to “Deconstructing the Blogroll: Hurlbut, Bloom, Laforet”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

