Monthly Inspiration: Quentin Tarantino

30Jan13

Monthly Inspiration is a blog series that’s about what inspires me; filmmakers, styles, actors, scripts… each month, I’ll cover one new piece of inspiration. Hopefully I can turn you on to something that will inspire you as well.

I’ve missed the last few months of Monthly Inspiration, but it’s a new year, and I’m back with a vengeance. Who better to be inspired by this month than indie film’s wet dream, Quentin Tarantino (imdb.com)?

tarantino

My first introduction to Tarantino was in elementary school. My brother came home one summer with VHS copies of Reservoir Dogs (imdb.com) and From Dusk Til Dawn (imdb.com). My parents told me I was too young to watch them, and sent me to bed. But, like any kid who’s told what NOT to do, i did the opposite. I snuck out of my bedroom into the living room and nestled myself between the couch and the wall where no one could see me. In retrospect, 9 may have been a little young for the Tarantino style, but from that point on, I was hooked.

reservoir-dogs-poster-bigfrom-dusk-till-dawn1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you’ve ever seen any of QT’s films you’ll know right off the bat that they’re full of gore, sex, violence, and some of the best dialogue in all cinema. When I was younger I loved films like Reservoir Dogs and Pulp Fiction (imdb.com) for the gratuitous violence. But, as I got older, and especially when I really started getting into films and filmmaking, I started appreciating the dialogue more and more. The stories that Tarantino tells are so off-the-wall brilliant that even without the shock and awe visuals, the films would still be magnificent.

pulp-fiction-originall

As a writer, Tarantino crafts gritty stories that satirize and spoof everything from the mob (Reservoir Dogs, Pulp Fiction), to Nazi’s (Inglorious Bastards (imdb.com)), to Bruce Lee style kung fu films (Kill Bill Vol. 1 and 2 (imdb.com)(imdb.com)). Most recently he’s turned heads with Django Unchained (imdb.com), a super stylized look into the pre-Cival War south. He’s caught a lot of flak because of the content of Django (many black filmmakers (ie: Spike Lee) have chastised the film for its depiction of slavery); but, it’s an over-the-top satire film done by Quentin Tarantino, not Amistad. Ok, mini-rant over.

Inglourious_Basterds_Hitler_Stands

So, outside the films, what’s so inspirational about Tarantino?
He’s more than just a writer/director. He’s also a pretty decent actor, and a great producer. “That’s not so unique anymore though,” you may say. But, what’s awesome about QT as a producer is that is producing credit list isn’t just the films he’s written and/or directed, he goes out of the way to produce films that fit his style that aren’t his babies.

jamie-foxx-frikarte-django-django-unchained

Quentin Tarantino is the iconic filmmaker dream. His first film (Reservoir Dogs) was a Sundance award winner, and that catapulted him to stardom. While he’s become a big name, and has worked on higher budget films, his style hasn’t changed and he still feels like an “indie filmmaker.” So, as a young filmmaker trying to make a name, I can look up to Tarantino and find inspiration in his career, as well in the films that he’s made.

Here’s the trailer for Django Unchained for everyone to enjoy:

2 Responses to “Monthly Inspiration: Quentin Tarantino”

  1. 1 Jamie S.

    For me the most inspirational thing about Tarantino is his story. He started out in video store, he fell in love with cinema. No school, no profesional backround, just pure passion. He puts that in his every movie and you can see his growth from one piece to another.


Leave a Reply

